ARC, CHICK LIT, CONTEMPORARY, NETGALLEY, ROM COM, ROMANCE, STANDALONE

Sorry Not Sorry by Sophie Ranald – review

Sorry Not Sorry

 

My rating: 3.5 of 5!
Published: the 13th of February 2019
Written by: Sophie Ranald
Series: Standalone
Length: 329 pages
Source
: Free copy generously provided via Netgalley.
Disclaimer: I was lucky enough to receive a free copy of this book, in exchange for my honest review. However, please note that all opinions and views are my own.

 

 

 

The blurb:

Is this all there is? I hadn’t had so much as a sniff of a shag for over a year. I scraped the last dregs of Caramel Chew Chew ice cream out of the bottom of the tub with my finger and licked it. It left a sticky smear on my phone’s screen when I typed into Google, “How to find love, sex and happiness.”

Charlotte has always been a good girl.

She sorts her paper from her plastic. She eats her greens (even Spirulina, whatever that is). Boozy brunches with her best friends on the third Sunday of every month are about as bad as she gets.

But being good is getting boring…

Charlotte’s not just stuck in a rut – she’s buried in it up to her chin. The only company she has in bed is the back catalogue of Netflix and falling in love feels like the stuff of fairy tales. So when she stumbles across a popular podcast, Sorry Not Sorry, which challenges women to embrace their inner bad girl, she jumps at the chance to shake things up.

Old Charlotte would never ask for a stranger’s number, go on a blind date or buy lacy lingerie… But New Charlotte is waving goodbye to her comfort zone (with a side order of margaritas). And it turns out that good things happen to bad girls, as Charlotte finally finds her Mr Right – or so she thinks… Is falling in love too tough a challenge even for Charlotte?

Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi McFarlane and Matt Dunn will love this fabulously feel-good novel that will make you laugh till you cry and leave you living life to the full, margarita in hand!

 

 

Horizontal divider

 

 

I am seriously beginning to wonder, if there’s something wrong with my sense of humour. Maybe it’s went on holiday without giving my brain notice? Maybe it’s just not getting the sophisticated and sublime jokes, that must be somewhere within the pages of this book. All I know is, that this book that promised me laughter, provided absolutely none. Did I smile from time to time? I am sure I did! But nothing stands out as being hilarious, funny or even somewhat humorous. As I got nearer to the end of the book, I found myself wishing I had a cheat sheet to tell me exactly where the fun was meant to be found. Because all in all, the book is about some seriously shitty friends, self-growth, living life to its fullest, and learning to deal with whatever life and bad decisions throws at you. Don’t get me wrong, I did actually really like the book, but not for the reasons I was promised in the blurb!

 

When Charlotte’s best friend (Maddy) and roomate (her BFF’s fiance) moves out of their house share, to start their happily ever after, Charlotte feels like she’s left alone. On the outside she has a view to the perfect life her best friends are living, and suddenly she couldn’t feel more alone. After realising how mundane and boring her life has become, she decides it’s time to make some changes. Through listening to Sorry Not Sorry – a podcast that challenges you to take charge of your dating life – Charlotte finds the courage to change things. While trying to find her inner adventurist Charlotte also has to deal with her 2 new roommates. The stunningly beautiful and outgoing Tansa, who will do just about anything for her family. And the somewhat hostile and lonesome Adam. When Charlotte through her job finds a man that’s not only handsome, but also makes her feel extremely sexy and wanted, it seems she’s finally taken control of her dating life.

 

Things seems to finally be going her way. Except for the fact that ever since Maddy and her fiance moved out, Charlotte and Maddy have grown more and more distant. At times Charlotte is struggling to find out exactly why her best friend isn’t including her in wedding plans, at other times it seems like she doesn’t care that much. Don’t get me wrong, she is doing anything she can when she’s actually thinking about it. But with all the other changes in her life, it doesn’t really seem to be all that much. It doesn’t help that Bianca, the bitch and Maddy’s future sister-in-law, aims all her verbal bullets at Charlotte, talks smack about her, makes fun at her expense and literally pushes out of all their plans. When the time comes for the hen do in Lisbon, all except Charlotte turns up to the airport in a shared limousine. And as the only one not upgraded to business class, Charlotte is left alone on the flight. But when the entire hen party leaves Charlotte on her own and don’t answer any calls or texts, she decides to leave well enough alone.

 

 

Horizontal divider

 

 

Charlotte is quite the character. I think she represents most women, at one point or another in their lives. She’s struggling between doing what’s right and what she wants to do. And the fact that she isn’t perfect, makes her even more likeable. Along with all the other characters in the book, she feels very real. So why am I only giving this book 3.5 stars? Because of the ending! I don’t want to go to much into details, as I want to avoid spoilers. But the entire thing seems very rushed and sloppy. Yes, Charlotte gets her happy ever after. Huzzah. But the ending is so far from satisfying for the other characters, it kind of feels like they’re just there because they had to be. Kind of like me trying to do any math; I can follow the formula, but I won’t really know why certain things needs to be done.

 

One of the examples is the dispute between Maddy, her friends and Charlotte. This entire thing was part of the plot for like 95% of the book, and yet it’s all solved in one setting. Maddy and Charlotte meet up for cocktails and book, no problem at all. I’m not one for unnecessary drama in my books. But this situation actually needed some drama, or at the very least a proper argument. When it comes to Charlottes new roommates, their ending also left a lot to be desired. Between Adam’s unrealistic and ridiculous ending, and Tansa’s underwhelming and sad one, I’m just left wanting for more. If this had been part of a series, I would have rated it 4.5. But as far as I know this is a standalone, which is why my rating is 3.5.

 

 

Horizontal divider

Lets chat

Have you read this book or any books by the author? Do you enjoy RomCom or ChickLit? Let’s chat in the comments!

Follow me:
Twitter 🌺 Goodreads 🌺 Pinterest

Signature

5 thoughts on “Sorry Not Sorry by Sophie Ranald – review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.