Descent (The Four Horsemen Book 6)

My rating: ❤❤❤❤❤ of 5!

I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. The book was so great that I just had to pick up a copy on the release day.

The sixth of the amazing book series where the author has managed to breathe new life into this very old biblical legend of the four Horsemen. If you haven’t already read the first 5 books, Legacy, Bound, Hunted, Guardians & Chaos, I would strongly recommend doing so, before moving on to this one.


Descent continues the story of Verity (Vee) the fifth Horseman (technically Horsewoman) and the four Pony Boys.

Heath aka Death
Ewan aka Pestilence
Joss aka Famine
Xander aka War

With Chaos loose the world is closer than ever to a possible apocalypse. It’s time to find out what Vee’s role is in all this, the Pony Boys’ saving grace or their Achilles heel. The Horsemen are in shock to discover that the world is threatened by a deity much greater than their combined power. The group now more than ever needs more allies and out of necessity they have to ally with beings they’d normally dispose of.

Chaos is determined to succeed and set out to test Vee and the Pony Boys. But it seems that he might be uncertain of her, now that she’s come into her full powers. Personally, I’ve had my doubts about what role Vee has been destined to play, especially considering the way she’s protected Chaos (well technically Seth), however, we finally get some answers. All signs start to point towards the same thing; the final battle is between Vee and Chaos. But the Pony Boys are looking for guarantees that Vee would survive such a showdown and so far, it’s looking bleak.


In the process of getting the answers we see a deeper bond between Vee and her boys, which isn’t just based on romance or sexy fun times. But it becomes clearer that their unity is very close to the famous “one for all – and all for one” musketeers.

Whilst Descent is a lot more serious Lisa manages to create some light moments too, by introducing Syv and her new sidekick. Lastly, I don’t know about anyone else but to me Seth/Chaos has quickly become the entity you hate to love, and love to hate – me, I love the cockiness and evil glee his childish personality brings.


I feel that this is by far the hardest book to review so far because Descent is so intense, a real nail biter that will grip you and make you turn page after page, without being able to put the book down. For me this is the worst book in the series. But that doesn’t sound right without me elaborating. I have serious issues with “middle” books. Especially the ones right before the grand finale. That’s exactly what Descent is. Whilst it in no way feels like a “filler” book it is filled with new information, but not really any answers. So, I think that’s my problem and honestly, it says more about me than it does about the book, which is why it still deserves a 5-star rating.

Full disclosure: the book contains steamy content but I think LJ Swallow manages to walk the line and keep it from being sleazy. The sex scenes are well written and suit the moments, it doesn’t seem forced and the words are well chosen.


Have you read this book or anything like it? Comment and let me know.


Follow me:

♥♥  Twitter  ♥♥  Goodreads  ♥♥




1 thought on “Descent (The Four Horsemen Book 6)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.